Share IT 2010 Conference

Today, I had the great privilege to take part in the Share IT 2010 Intergenerational Learning Conference organised by my colleague Trudy Corrigan and her team in DCU. It was absolutely wonderful. Listening to the young and older learners share their enthusiasm and passion for learning together and from each other just brought home to me once more, that this is what learning and education are about, that teaching is first and foremost about learning with and from your students.

The ICT and Social Media workshop, organised by Cathy Fowley (whose PhD I also have the privilege to supervise) in the afternoon was probably the best workshop I have ever attended on this topic. The stories told by the older learners on their journey through twittering and blogging were simply inspirational. I wish I could blog like them, I wish I could tell life stories the way they do. I have learned so much today.

2 thoughts on “Share IT 2010 Conference

  1. I just happened upon your blog, Francosie, in looking you up on the web. The workshop sounds really interesting Francoise and a great antidote to the post election fever or doldrums – not sure which which we have here. I am also thinking about social software for heritage language learning – and would be interested in disussing this with you at some point?
    Ann

Leave a Reply

